About Me

Kate Orman's Biography

To Authors Index

Kate Orman (born 1968 in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia) is an Australian author, best known for her books connected to the British science-fiction television series Doctor Who.

Kate Orman Biography:

Orman was born in Sydney, but grew up in Canberra and Melbourne and spent two years living in the United States. She earned a degree in microbiology at Sydney University before becoming a professional author. She is a self-described "liberal feminist". She is married to American writer Jonathan Blum, whom she met through Doctor Who fandom.

Kate Orman Writing:

Orman penned many spin-off novels from Doctor Who for Virgin Publishing, BBC Books and Telos Publishing, the first non-British and first female author to do so. Several of her later Doctor Who works were in collaboration with her husband. She has also collaborated with Paul Cornell: Orman and Cornell co-plotted Human Nature, written by Cornell, and Return of the Living Dad, written by Orman. More recent Doctor Who and related work has been for Big Finish.

Orman has also had a number of short science fiction stories published.

In 2004, Orman and Blum's Doctor Who novella Fallen Gods, published by Telos the previous year, won the Aurealis Award for best Australian science-fiction book.

Kate Orman Novels:

- Virgin New Adventures

-- The Left-Handed Hummingbird (1993)
-- Set Piece (1995)
-- SLEEPY (1996)
-- Return of the Living Dad (1996)
-- The Room With No Doors (1997)
-- So Vile a Sin (with Ben Aaronovitch, 1997)

- "Benny" New Adventures

- Walking to Babylon (1998, later adapted into an audio drama by Big Finish)

- Eighth Doctor Adventures

-- Vampire Science (with Jonathan Blum, 1997)
-- Seeing I (with Jonathan Blum, 1998)
-- Unnatural History (with Jonathan Blum, 1999)
-- The Year of Intelligent Tigers (2001)

- Past Doctor Adventures

-- Blue Box (2003)

- Telos Doctor Who novellas

-- Fallen Gods (with Jonathan Blum, 2003)

To Authors Index